Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

So much has happened to me this year. I would not call the year smooth sailing but rather my own personal life ship abruptly sailed into turbulent seas and ran aground. As 2022 tends to an end, the new year 2023 looms near. This is an ideal time to reflect on the year.

In 2022, I was blessed in the study of the book of Daniel. The stories of Daniel’s personal struggles, facing enormous challenges, and securing God’s ordained victories in Babylon are etched in my heart and mind. The center of the stories is a God, Daniel’s God who is the Ancient of Days (Dan 7:9). The year saw the long-reigning monarch Queen Elizabeth of Great Britain pass on. She was on the throne before I was even born and now a new King Charles has ascended to the throne. While the nation rages (Ps 2:1, Ps 46:6, Rev 11:18) and earthly kingdoms rise and fall, Jehovah has always been on the everlasting heavenly throne.

War returned to the backyard of Europe. Both Ukrainians and Russians suffered in the war. In any war, there are no winners. Sadly, there is no end in sight to this war for now. Many Ukrainians have lost their homes and families, and many would be suffering through the winter in the cold and darkness because the power grid has been destroyed by Putin’s callous indiscriminate attacks on civilian infrastructure. As he faced severe embarrassing losses, Putin wants the world to see that he has the upper hand in wielding military power and is likely to force a negotiation for concessions. What is apparent is that Putin is a cold-blooded dictator who is desperate to stay in power and resorts to cowardly and pathetic bullying of innocent Ukrainian civilians. May the God of all comfort (2 Cor 1:3, Isaiah 61:2) and the Prince of Peace (Isaiah 9:6) display his grace and grant peace to Ukraine soon.

The global supply chains are already highly stretched to recover from a global pandemic. The worsening climate-induced weather patterns bring both extremes of catastrophic floods and droughts, farming, and agriculture are disrupted. The acute return of protectionism and nationalism has not helped ease the trade flows of goods and services. Nothing is business as usual. With inflation in full bloom globally, for most of us, the value of our money is shrinking and our cost of living is escalating. So is it going to get better in 2023?

The Ancient of Days who was with Daniel and his mates is still the same God who is with me in 2022. It is comforting to remember that Jehovah, the Ancient of Days has always been the reigning King of kings despite the eons of time. My Shepherd (Psa 23) is the Ancient of Days who has promised to bring me safely through the deepest and darkest valleys, to the still waters and green pastures, and defend me from preying wolves. Am I fearful of what the new year may bring? No, not at all, I am not afraid of 2023 for my God is the Ancient of Days. Therefore, it is a good time for me as a believer in Jesus Christ, to watch and pray for the Son of Man (Dan 7:13) to return soon in his power and glory. Until then, our only right response is to assert our faith in Him in worshipping and serving the Ancient of Days and serving the global evangelistic mission (Matt 28:19) given by the Son of Man.  Blessings

Though the nations rage, kingdoms rise and fall
There is still one King reigning over all
So I will not fear for this truth remains
That my God is, the Ancient of Days
None above Him, none before Him
All of time in His hands
For His throne it shall remain and ever stand
All the power, all the glory
I will trust in His name
For my God is, the Ancient of Days
Though the dread of night overwhelms my soul
He is here with me, I am not alone
O His love is sure, and He knows my name
For my God is, the Ancient of Days
None above Him, none before Him
All of time in His hands
For His throne it shall remain and ever stand
All the power, all the glory
I will trust in His name
For my God is, the Ancient of Days
Though I may not see what the future brings
I will watch and wait for the Saviour King
Then my joy complete, standing face to face
In the presence of the Ancient of Days
None above Him, none before Him
All of time in His hands
For His throne it shall remain and ever stand
All the power, all the glory
I will trust in His name
For my God is, the Ancient of Days
For my God is, the Ancient of Days

Songwriters: Jesse Reeves / Michael Farren / Rich Thompson / Jonny Robinson
Ancient of Days lyrics © Farren Love And War Publishing, Integrity’s Alleluia! Music, Cityalight Music