Tags

, , , , , ,

romans14_8b

For I am already being poured out as a drink offering, and the time of my departure has come. I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith – 2Tim 4:6-7

“Death to a good man is his release from the imprisonment of this world and his departure to the enjoyments of another world; he does not cease to be, but is only removed from one world to another.” – Mathew Henry

“With what pleasure he [Paul] looks back upon the life he had lived: I have fought a good fight, I have finished my course, etc. He did not fear death, because he had the testimony of his conscience that by the grace of God he had in some measure answered the ends of living”- Mathew Henry

“It is a great comfort to a dying saint, when he can look back upon his past life and say with our apostle, “I have fought, etc. I have kept the faith, the doctrine of faith and the grace of faith.” Towards the end of our days to be able to speak in this manner, what comfort, unspeakable comfort, will it afford! Let it then be our constant endeavour, by the grace of God, that we may finish our course with joy (Acts 20:24).”- Mathew Henry